Introduction to TeamRetro Permissions and Roles

TeamRetro manages user permissions and roles at three levels: 

  • Within each organization
  • Within each team
  • Within each retrospective meeting

This document summarizes what these roles represent and the permissions each have.

Organization Member Roles

Three roles exist within your organizational account -  OwnerAdmin and Member. The Owner role is automatically assigned to the user who initially created the organization; and cannot be reassigned via the application (if you wish to transfer ownership of an organization please contact us at info@teamretro.com). By default, all additional users added to an organization have only the member role.

  Owner Admin Member-only (default)
Manage TeamRetro subscription and billing YES    
Manage organization settings
(name, subdomain, single-sign-on etc)
YES    
Manage organization members    
(view, add, manage roles, remove)
YES YES  
Manage all teams
(view, create, edit, remove)
YES YES  
View organization-wide reports YES YES  
Be a team member YES YES YES


Team Member Roles

Team Members may be assigned the additional Admin role, granting them privileges to manage membership of the team and create new retrospectives. Each team must have at least one admin. 


Admin Member-only (default)
Invite team members
(New users will be added as Organization Members)
YES
View team members YES YES
Promote members to admin role YES
Remove team members YES
Start a retrospective meeting YES
Delete finished retrospective meetings YES
Participate in any team retrospective YES (as Facilitator) YES (as Participant)
Create, edit, delete team actions YES YES
Manage team options
(name, logo, integrations etc)
YES
Delete the team YES




Retrospective Participant Roles

Retrospective Participants may be granted the Facilitator role, giving them tools to drive the retrospective activities. Each retrospective must have at least one Facilitator. By default, only the Team Admin who started the retrospective has the Facilitator role.

  Facilitator Participant-only (default)
Invite Participants
(new users will also added as Team Members)
YES  
Promote / demote other participants with  Facilitator role YES
Modify retro settings
(topics, brainstorm style, group permissions, action permissions etc)
YES
Move the retrospective between activities 
(Brainstorm, Group, Vote, Discuss etc...)
YES
Set an activity timer YES
Add ideas YES YES
Edit own ideas YES YES
Edit others' ideas YES  
Add comments YES YES
Group / ungroup ideas YES (depends on retro settings)
Add / edit / remove actions YES (depends on retro settings)
End a retrospective YES  

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us